Call for Participation Pre-Conference for Young Scholars

11 – 12 September 2019, Warsaw School of Economics, Poland


the 31st Annual Conference of the European Association for Evolutionary Political Economy

12 - 15 September 2019

The European Association for Evolutionary Political Economy (EAEPE) seeks to institutionalize and to deepen the involvement of and exchange with young scholars and student initiatives at the Association’s Annual Conference. One of the key forums for young scholars at EAEPE is the annual pre-conference, a series of workshops by distinguished scholars, accompanied by social space to interact and network. Organised by a team of young scholars, the pre-conference was first launched in Genova (2015). This year, we invite young scholars to join the 5th pre-conference that will be held in the afternoon of September 11 and the morning of September 12 at the Warsaw School of Economics, Poland. 

Participants will be assigned a few reading materials prior to the pre-conference to facilitate the workshops. The workshops aim at generating interactive discussions and  participants are expected to actively contribute to the discussions. The workshops will last from three to six hours. Participants will be able to attend 2-3 workshops from the list below:

  • Slavo Radośević (University College London): Technology Upgrading, Growth and Convergence/Divergence in Europe: Revisiting Last 30 Years
  •  Dóra Piroska (Corvinus University of Budapest): The East-West Regulatory Divide in European Finance
  •  Claudius Gräbner (Johannes Kepler University Linz & University of Duisburg-Essen): The Political Economy of Economic Complexity: Models, Data and Policy I-II
  •  Jakob Kapeller (University of Duisburg-Essen & Johannes Kepler University Linz): Philosophy and Economics: Epistemology, Ontology and Performativity

All pre-conference participants are warmly invited to participate at EAEPE’s main conference as well.

Young Scholar Papers at the main conference: Young Scholars and students are invited to present research papers in the regular paper sessions at the main conference. Presentation topics might be related to the conference theme “30 years after the fall of the Berlin wall: What happened to Europe? Where does Europe stand today? What is new in economics?” (please see General Call for Papers) or to any of the usual topics covered by EAEPE’s Research Areas. Abstract submission needs to be done through our website and closes on 1 April 2019. You will need to create a user account to submit an abstract. Please see the conference CfP for further instructions.

The Herbert Simon Prize: Young scholars are encouraged to submit their research paper for consideration for the Herbert Simon Prize. The prize is awarded to the best conference papers by scholars younger than 35 years. The best three papers shortlisted for the prize are invited to give a presentation in a high-profile special session in the main conference.

Application to the Pre-Conference: Please register for the pre-conference workshops through the EAEPE website by July 1, 2019. To register, you need to be a paid up EAEPE member. Membership for students and young researchers is 25€/year. This gives you access to the Journal of Institutional Economics and  other benefits.

Registration fees: In order to avoid last minute cancellations and to cover part of the costs (catering, conference material and rooms etc.), there is a registration fee of 90€ payable upon web registration. This fee gives you access to both pre-conference and main conference.

Financial support: There is a fee waiver policy for a limited number of students and young researchers without other funding opportunities. Applicants must provide a written statement of their supervisor or a faculty member of their study or PhD program (or similar) confirming that they do not have financial support. In addition, participants with a paper presentation at the main conference need to upload their full paper. Fee waivers will be awarded according to the quality of the papers. Students without paper presentation need to submit a motivation letter, explaining how participation could potentially benefit their academic development. Fee waiver applications are submitted through EAEPE website where you will need to select ‘Young Scholar’ from a drop-down menu.

Please note that application for pre-conference and application for a fee waiver imply two separate applications but with the same due date: July 1, 2019.

We are looking forward to your participation and lively discussions in Warsaw! Please check our website for more detailed information and updates about the conference.

For any questions, please contact the pre-conference organizing team – Olga Mikheeva, Merve Burnazoglu, Madeleine Böhm and Katarzyna Sadowy – at

The Pre-Conference enjoys financial support by the Institute for New Economic Thinking Young Scholars Initiative (INET YSI).

Schedule of the pre-conference 2019

Day 1

September 11 (Wednesday)

12:00 - 12:15 Welcome words by pre-conf team and local organizers of EAEPE conference

12:15 – 15:00 Workshop-I

‘Technology upgrading, growth and convergence/divergence in Europe: Revisiting last 30 years’

by Slavo Radošević

(University College London)

15:00 - 15:30 coffee break

15:30 – 16:30 Participants introducing their projects and themselves to each other

16:30 - 17:00 coffee break

17:00 – 19:30 Workshop IIA

‘The East-West Regulatory Divide in European Finance’

by Dóra Piroska

(Corvinus University of Budapest)

17:00 – 19:30 Workshop IIB

‘The Political Economy of Economic Complexity: Models, Data and Policy 1’

by Claudius Gräbner

(Johannes Kepler University Linz & University of Duisburg-Essen)

20:00 Dinner with all participants and speakers

Day 2

September 12 (Thursday)

10:00 – 13:00 Workshop IIIA


‘Philosophy and Economics: Epistemology, Ontology and Performativity’

by Jakob Kapeller

(University of Duisburg-Essen & Johannes Keppler University Linz)

10:00 – 13:00 Workshop IIIB


‘The Political Economy of Economic Complexity: Models, Data and Policy 2’

by Claudius Gräbner

(Johannes Kepler University Linz & University of Duisburg-Essen)


Download CfP for the Pre-Conference at EAEPE2019!