1st Call: EAEPE Young Scholars Pre-Conference 2016


The European Association for Evolutionary Political Economy (EAEPE) seeks to institutionalize and deepen the involvement of and exchange with young scholars (YS, students – early Post-Docs) and student initiatives at the association’s Annual Conference. Building upon the lively discussions at the previous conferences in Cracow (2012), Paris (2013) Cyprus (2014) and Genova (2015), we invite participation to the following formats.

 Young Scholars Pre-Conference

Prior to the start of the regular conference, YS are invited to participate in different workshops with leading scholars of their respective fields. The pre-conference keynote speech will take place on the evening of Tuesday, 1 Nov 2016, followed by a social welcome event. The workshops will be held on Wednesday 2 Nov the whole day and Thursday 3 Nov in the morning, before the regular conference will start in the afternoon. Participants will be able to attend 2-4 workshops. Workshop outlines and a preliminary schedule will be available on the pre-conference website soon. Lecturers and workshop topics are:

  • Pre-Conference Keynote Lecture: Doyne Farmer (University of Oxford):The future of economics: an interdisciplinary perspective
  • Alessandro Caiani (Marche Polytechnic University):Stock Flow Consistent Models – An Introduction to Theory and Technique
  • Bruce Edmonds (Manchester Metropolitan University): An introduction to agent-based modelling for policy analysis
  • Jakob Kapeller (Johannes Kepler University Linz): Epistemology and Philosophy of Economics
  • Anastasia Nesvetailova (City University London): Financialization
  • Jens Maeße (University of Giessen): Discourse practices in economics
  • Jayati Ghosh (Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi): Critical perspectives on development economics (workshop title tbc)

Young Scholar Papers at the Main Conference

YS are invited to present research papers in the regular paper sessions at the main conference. Conference sessions are organized according to EAEPE’s Research Areas and to a special conference topic. Presentation topics might be related to the conference main theme Industrialisation, socio-economic transformation and Institutions (please see General Call for Papers) or to any of the usual topics covered by EAEPE’s Research Areas. We also welcome research projects initiated by student groups and session proposals. Abstract submission needs to be done through our website and closes on 15 May 2016. You will need to create a user account to submit an abstract. Please see the Conference CfP for further instructions.

The Herbert Simon Prize and High Profile YS session

Young scholars are encouraged to submit their research paper for consideration for the Herbert Simon prize. The prize is awarded for the best conference paper of scholars younger than 35 years. The best three papers shortlisted for the prize will be invited to present their paper in a high-profile special session. Please note that you need to submit your paper to the conference and for the prize separately.

Special session: Meet the Prez and GenSec

As in past years, EAEPE President Nathalie Lazaric and General Secretary Pasquale Tridico are interested in maintaining the dialogue with YS and representatives from European student organizations initiated in past years, in order to discuss topics of mutual interests and foster cooperation. Details about the format will follow. Representatives from European student organizations should indicate their interest to join via mail to Svenja Flechtner (svenja.flechtner@uni-flensburg.de) until 1 September 2016.

Application to the Pre-Conference and Conference

Please register for the pre-conference workshops through the EAEPE website. Registration opens on 18 June and closes on 1 October.

To register for the Pre-Conference workshops it is necessary to register for the main conference with one of the two following members' special rates:

  • PhD/Masters students  - 90 €
  • Accepted fee waiver - 1 €

After registration you will find a link in your user account for the Pre-Conference Registration in the left side navigation!

Registration Fees

In order to avoid last minute cancellations and to cover part of the costs (catering, conference material and rooms etc.), there is a YS registration fee of 90€ payable upon web registration, including both pre-conference and main conference. Participants must also be paid-up EAEPE members.

Fee Waivers

There is a fee waiver policy for a limited number of students and early-career researchers with papers accepted for presentation at the main conference. To be eligible for the fee waiver, you need to be a Bachelor’s, Master’s, or PhD student and have an accepted abstract at the main conference.

Applications for fee waivers have to be made through the fee waiver application website between 30 June and 31 August. Please submit your full paper and a written statement from your supervisor or a faculty member of your study or PhD program (or similar), confirming that you do not receive financial support for participation at the conference. Decisions will be based upon the quality of your conference paper and be made in early September. You can make your conference (and pre-conference) registration after decisions have been made, there will be sufficient time. (Registering earlier, you would be asked to pay the conference fee upon registration.)

Please note that the fee waiver application is different from the annual EAEPE-Simon Young Scholar Prize. For more information concerning the latter, please see here: http://eaepe.org/?page=awards&side=eaepesimon_prize&sub=rules

Important Dates

  • May 15: Abstract submission for papers at main conference closes
  • June 30: Notification of acceptance; registration opens
  • August 31: Deadline for Herbert Simon Prize and fee waiver applications
  • September 14: Conference registration closes for authors to be included in the conference program
  • October 1: Registration for pre-conference closes; full paper submission deadline on EAEPE website

We are looking forward to your participation and lively discussions in Manchester! Please check our website for more detailed information and updates about the conference. For any questions, please contact the pre-conference organizing team – Madeleine Böhm, Claudius Gräbner, Till Kellerhoff, Andrew Morton, and Svenja Flechtner – at preconf2016@eaepe.org. If you have questions about your participation at the main conference, please write to EAEPE Young Scholars officer Svenja Flechtner (svenja.flechtner@uni-flensburg.de).

The Pre-Conference enjoys financial support by the Institute for New Economic Thinking (INET) and the Foundation for European Economic Development (FEED).